Day 8: Thumbprint Cookies

Ever since my parents have been married my dad has been taught that it’s a dessert only if there’s chocolate involved. I tend to agree with my mom on this full-heartedly. But sometimes he brings up desserts like thumbprint cookies and I know he hasn’t been fully converted, so I decided to finally give them a chance and if nothing else, make a dessert that’s never seen the light of day in our house. My take: not a huge jelly fan to start with, but the cookie part itself is great. I’m thinking the possibilities of filling this are probably endless. I might try them again if I had a different filling. He loved them though, so don’t let me dissuade you.

thumbprint

Recipe:
Ingredients:
– 1 cup butter
– 2/3 cup sugar
– 2 egg yolks
– 1 tsp. vanilla
– 2 cups flour
– 1/2 tsp salt
– any flavor jam

Recipe:
1. Preheat oven to 375.
2. Beat butter and sugar for about 2 minutes on medium-high until fluffy. (kitchenaid mixer definitely came in handy for this!)
3. Beat in egg yolks and vanilla (save your egg whites). Add flour and salt until dough comes into a ball. (Mine was a bit crumbly at first, but keep mixing and it will work!)
4. Form dough into balls and make thumb indentation in the center.
5. Bake for 8 minutes and remove from oven. You may have to use a spoon to define the indentation. Fill them with jam and bake for an additional 3 minutes.

Option: You can use your egg whites to put on the outer edge of the cookie and sprinkle it with nuts. I did a few with nuts and the rest without.

thumb nuts