Day 15: Double Chocolate PB Muffins

5For all of you who have claimed to have had enough sweets this season, these muffins are for you. At only about 100 calories each, these yummy muffins use no sugar or flour and are gluten-free. Trust me, I wouldn’t make these muffins because of that, but I just thought they sounded too good to pass up. You know me, as soon as I read PB and chocolate, I’m sold.

This is the perfect example of a healthy, yummy muffin. I’m a pinning addict and my friends make fun of me for having a healthy eating board that is solely filled with “healthy” cookies, muffins, brownies, etc.

Besides being gluten-free, these muffins are unique because instead of mixing, you use a blender. Put everything in all at once and blend until combined. The more ripe your banana is, the sweeter your muffin will be. These muffins are the perfect combination of sweetness and healthy flavors.

I’ve always thought muffins are better the 2nd day. They have the perfect consistency and seem like there’s more flavor. I was never sure if there was any science behind this or what, but this recipe backed up my argument and agreed that these muffins are better on day 2 as well.

Ingredients:1
-1 banana
-1 egg
-3 tbsp honey
-1/2 cup PB
-1/4 tsp baking soda
-1/3 cup cocoa powder
-1 pinch salt
-1 tbsp vanilla
-1/2 cup chocolate chips

Steps:
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
2. Fill muffin tins with mini muffin liners.
3. Add all ingredients, minus chocolate chips, to the blender.
4. Blend on high speed until smooth and creamy.
5. Fold in chocolate chips.
6. Drop into muffin tins.
7.  Sprinkle additional chips on top.
8. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

Just remember, even though these muffins are healthy there’s still 10 days left of the baking blog and the holiday season is still in full swing, so hold off on vowing off sweets just yet!

Recipe adapted from: http://www.averiecooks.com/2014/05/flourless-double-chocolate-peanut-butter-mini-blender-muffins.html

