Day 13: Molten Chocolate Cakes

IMG_4799I’m officially on a chocolate peanut butter kick. That’s basically what my food life revolves around–chocolate and peanut butter. You might be thinking: molten chocolate cake, that doesn’t have peanut butter. Well friends, THIS ONE does!

Have you guys ever been on a cruise? A carnival cruise? If so, you understand the love of molten chocolate cakes. We went on a 9 day cruise this summer and I think I consumed one of these little chocolate divinities EACH night. I remember trying to make one a long time ago and it just came out being a yummy chocolate cake–good, but where’s my molten?! I’m obsessed with Chili’s Molten Chocolate Cake and think it is just the best thing to ever happen. I’m a little pumped about this recipe, can’t you tell?

I figured it needed to be something extra good since I’ve been an absentee blogger these past few days. I’ve been crazy busy and at this rate I know I won’t complete the 25 days of baking right on Christmas, which I had hoped, but I WILL complete it! It just might go into January.

This one was SO SO good! I found 2 ramekins a couple months back from Target and bought them with the sole purpose of knowing I wanted to make a molten chocolate cake. Well, even though I had 2 ramekins. This recipe made about 8 molten cakes! 2 in my ramekins and then 6 in muffin tins. And in case you’re thinking, “Oh my gosh, I’ll never be able to eat 8 molten cakes!” Well, I put the leftovers in the fridge after everyone had their share. I wasn’t sure how they’d be the next day, but figured if anything, they’d be a yummy cake. My sister tried it out and put it in the microwave for 30 seconds and said it was just as good as day 1.

If you’re a true molten lover then you know, you HAVE to top these babies off with a scoop of ice-cream…you have to. That mixture of steaming hot cake with the cool ice-cream on top lets you eat it while it’s warm and is total perfection.

IMG_4805

I think this was my favorite recipe thus far for this year’s 25 days of baking. It reminded me of the delicious crock pot chocolate cake from day 1, too. We’re only half-way through though so don’t hold me to it!

Ingredients:IMG_4784
-4 tbsp butter
-1/3 cup sugar
-3 eggs
-1/3 cup flour
-1/4 tbsp salt
-8 oz. melted chocolate (I used combo of semi-sweet and milk…and 8 oz is roughly 1 1/3 cup of chocolate chips)
-powdered sugar
-ICE-CREAM

Steps:
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
2. Butter up your ramekins and muffin tins by rubbing the butter in each and then sprinkling in sugar to coat the surface. Tap them upside down to get rid of any excess.
3. Beat butter and sugar until fluffy.
4. Add eggs one at a time, beating as you add.
5. Pour flour and salt slowly into mixture and beat until combined.
6. Pour into your ramekins or muffin tins.
7. Add a dollop of peanut butter in the center.
8. Bake for 10-12 minutes. (It took mine 12). They’re done when the tops don’t jiggle when pan is lightly shaken. I found that mine still jiggled a little, but was getting worried because I didn’t want to overcook and they still tasted perfect.
9. Dust powdered sugar on top and enjoy with a scoop of ice-cream on top. If eating out of your ramekin, be careful, because it’ll obviously still be hot!

ENJOY!

IMG_4800

