Day 5: Dark Chocolate Salted Caramel Oreo Pie

IMG_4670Okay, I’m just going to go ahead and say it: this is one of my favorite things I have EVER baked. I made it for Thanksgiving this year and it was a huge hit! I knew it would be good, but it completely surpassed all my expectations. In our house at Thanksgiving, turkey is great, side dishes are an obvious requirement, but what we really put our attention on is the desserts. We had 3 different pies at our table–your traditional pumpkin pie, family favorite peanut butter pie and then this one, the chocolate variation pie. The only requirement was that it must contain chocolate, so I found this one, gave it a shot and I’m SO glad that I did!

You know what I loved most about this pie? It tasted fantastic, looked amazing, I got to buy a really fun new pan  (see note) to use for it and it was so EASY! Sometimes people rave about how easy things are and then you look at it only to realize that it still requires at least 10 ingredients and takes 2 hours to cook. I’m serious about this one being easy. How about this? Only FIVE ingredients AND it doesn’t even bake. It goes in the refrigerator. See? I told you! Simple.

Note: I bought a pie/tart pan from Target that has a removable bottom. I absolutely love it! Once your pie is finished cooking (or in this case freezing), you can remove it from the pan keeping it all in one piece. It also makes it super easy to cut!

But okay, let’s get to the good sIMG_4633tuff…

Ingredients:
-1 package oreos
-1 cup butter, divided
-2/3 cup packed brown sugar
-1 1/4 cup heavy whipping cream, divided
-1 (12 oz) bag dark chocolate chips

 

 

salted caramel pie 1Steps:salted caramel 2
1. Crush the oreos finely. If you have a food processor, I’d go with that. I was without one, so I used a storage bag and rolling pin! Same result, just more effort.
2. Melt 8 tbsps of butter and combine with your now crushed oreos.
3. Press into the bottoms and sides of your pie pan. You’ll want to come up a bit on the sides too. Freeze for it to set.
4. While that’s freezing, let’s make the caramel sauce! In a small saucepan combine the rest of your butter (8 tbsps) with your brown sugar. Whisk constantly over medium until it begins to bubble. Once it bubbles, whisk for 1 more minute. Remove from heat.
5. Slowly whisk in 1/4 cup heavy whipping cream until combined. Cool the caramel for about 15 minutes.
6. Pour caramel into your now hardened crust and return to freezer for about 40 minutes.
7. Place chocolate chips in a bowl. In a saucepan, bring the rest of your heavy whipping cream (1 cup) to a simmer over medium-high heat.
8. Pour cream over chocolate chips and let sit for 5 minutes. After 5 minutes, whisk until smooth. It’s so fun to watch the mixture go from white to brown to dark chocolatey brown. And it smells delicious. YUM!
9. Pour the chocolate over the caramel and freeze for a final 30 minutes.
10. Before serving, sprinkle sea salt on top for the finishing touch. Oh man is it good.

The recipe I followed said if you don’t plan to eat it right away to keep it covered and in the fridge, which I did, but I found that my caramel got pretty runny, so I ended up putting it in the freezer after we all had our first piece and I liked it this way even better. So it’s up to you if you keep it in the fridge or freezer!

If you have any events coming up–work functions, family events or just feel like making a pie, try this!! You’ll be a happier person because of it : )

IMG_4665

Recipe was used from: http://www.kevinandamanda.com/recipes/dessert/dark-chocolate-salted-caramel-oreo-pie.html

