Day 4: Triple Chocolate Chunk Cookies

IMG_4686I told you guys I was ready for a cookie, so here we are: triple chocolate chunk cookies! I wanted to go for quadruple chunk, but my sister told me that was taking things a little too far. Can you really take chocolate too far? We only had 2 types of chocolate chips, so my answer was decided for me…triple chocolate chunk it would be!

I love these cookies because they’re a chocolate lover’s dream and they stay so nice and soft. I’m a huge fan of soft cookies. I know some people are fans of their cookies being crispy, and although I will not discriminate when it comes to cookies, I think soft is where it’s at.

Ingredients:
-2 cups flour
-3/4 cup cocoa powder
-1 tsp baking soda
-1/2 tsp salt
-1 1/4 cups Crisco (you can use butter if you want. see note below.)
-2 cups sugar
-2 eggs
-2 tsps vanilla extract
-1 cup dark chocolate chips
-1 cup semi sweet morsels

Steps:
1. Heat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Stir together flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt.
3. In separate bowl, beat butter and sugar until fluffy.
4. Add the eggs and vanilla to sugar mixture, beating well.
5. Gradually add the flour mixture, beating as you go.
6. Stir in as many chocolate chips as will fit ; )
7. Drop cookies by spoonful onto baking sheet/stone and bake for 8 or 9 minutes.

They will flatten while cooling, so even if they look a little puffy at first, you don’t want to overcook!

Normally we make these cookies with PB chips, which, as you can imagine, are heavenly as well. So depending on how you’re feeling on the day you make them, just go with that. Everything else in the recipe stays the same!

Note about Crisco: Ever since I can remember we’ve been a total Crisco family. Unless a recipe specifically notes that you use butter, I am more likely to pull out the Crisco and guess what? They taste the same! I do feel like when it comes to cakes you can definitely tell a difference in the texture, but when it comes to cookies you’re not switching much of anything up. So as far as I’m concerned, butter or Crisco? It’s a matter of preference and what you have on hand!

IMG_4685YUMMY!!!

