Day 3: Pumpkin Bars

IMG_4619

Although fall is still sticking around for a couple more weeks, once Thanksgiving passes, my mind goes into total Christmas/Winter mode. So I thought, to end fall on a happy note, I needed to bake something pumpkin–everyone’s favorite fall treat. This recipe was one of my Grandpa Bob’s favorites. I actually brought it into a work potluck last week and saw practically everyone go back for seconds : ) Like most things pumpkin, these bars were not the least bit dry, which made them the perfect dessert for making ahead of time and still retaining their freshness.

Ingredients:
-2 cups flour
-1 1/2 cups sugar
-2 tsps baking powder
-2 tsps cinammon
-1 tsps baking soda
-1/4 tsps salt
-4 beaten eggs
-1 15 oz. can of pumpkin puree
-1 cup vegetable oil
-cream cheese icing
-chocolate chips
Steps:IMG_4623
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. In a large bowl, stir together all the dry ingredients: flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, baking soda and salt.
3. Beat your eggs and then stir those, the pumpkin and oil into the dry mixture until combined. (I just used a spoon, no mixer necessary).
4. Spread in 15x10x1 inch pan.
5. Bake for 25-30 minutes.
6. Let them cool and then frost and adorn with chocolate chips!

If you did want to make them ahead of time to freeze, I would obviously hold off on the icing part, freeze the bar, and ice after you thaw them.

I mentioned this last year during the 25 days of baking blog, but you can freeze practically anything and still have it come out tasting like new…as long as you do it the right way. For a lot of my cookies, brownies, bars, etc. last year, I placed them in tins (if you don’t have any tins, freezer storage bags will also work), and made sure there was no extra air. You keep them in the freezer until you’re ready to serve, and then, this is the important part: keep the bag or tin closed once you get them out of the freezer and let the dessert reach room temperature before opening–a few hours or so. This will make them taste as fresh as the day you made them!

I ended up doing this for almost all of the desserts last year, but so far this year, none of our desserts have made it to the tins…we’ve been eating them all before they could make it there. :) Stay tuned for tomorrow’s dessert…I’m feeling a cookie! IMG_4621

