The 2nd Annual 25 Days of Baking is Back with some Crockpot Chocolate Cake!

IMG_4546The weather is getting colder, sweaters, tights and scarves have come out of hiding, and baking season is officially here! Last year I had zero finals, classes were over by Thanksgiving break and I turned to baking to occupy my time. This year, I’ve recently been hired for my first full-time job, am in the midst of moving and am also trying to figure out how to keep off the 5 pounds I gained last year with this blog (you try baking for 25 days and not gaining any weight!). So, I have a few obstacles ahead of me. The hardest of these being the last one…in my mind, baking=chocolate and as much as I tell myself eating dark chocolate is basically like eating a piece of fruit, who am I really kidding :)?

With that being said, I’m quite busy these days, but can’t pass up on this 25 days of baking blog. If it gets unmanageable I’ll switch it up, but for now it’s still “25 days of baking”…here we go.

To get everyone excited for the season, I decided to start out with something so rich, so delicious and something I was so excited to try: Crockpot Chocolate Cake. If you have a Pinterest, you’ve probably pinned it, but how many people have actually tried it? I’m telling you firsthand: the pictures are as good as it looks, and this is easy peasy. Do you have a crockpot? Do you have 3 hours to bask in this heavenly smell while it cooks? I rest my case.

Ingredients:IMG_4521
-1 box chocolate cake mix
-3 1/4 cup milk
-1/2 cup vegetable oil
-3 eggs
-1 instant chocolate pudding mix (3.9 ounces)PicMonkey Collage
-1 bag milk chocolate chips (12 oz)
-parchment paper

Ā 

Steps:
1.
I started by lining the inside of the crockpot. This is good because 1) less mess, 2) it won’t burn and 3) it won’t stick!
2. Then, use a cake mix of your choice (I used Duncan Hines dark chocolate fudge!) and mix in 1 1/4 cup milk (save the rest for later), 3 eggs and 1/2 cup oil. This could be different according to your cake’s box, but for this recipe, use the above amounts.
3. Beat until well combined (about 2 minutes on medium with the kitchenaid mixer) and then pour into your crockpot.
4. Take your pudding and put it into your stand mixer. Add the rest, 2 cups, of cold milk. You will want to beat this until it thickens, which is about 3-4 minutes on medium-high for pudding.
5. Pour it on top of the cake mix in the crock pot. DON’T STIR! Besides the layers look awesome, so why would you wanna mess that up?
6. Grab your chocolate chips and pour every single last one of those babies right on top of your delicious concoction. DON’T STIR!
7. Cook on low for 3 hours or so (wait until the top is set–the amount of time will vary based on your crock pot).
8. Throw some ice-cream on top of the warmness and eat up!

This cake is served WARM, meltingly so, with a scoop of ice-cream on top.

And not that you’ll have any leftovers, BUT if for some reason you do: this cake is just as perfect the next day. Just put it in tupperware, keep in the fridge, and heat up in the microwave when you’re ready : ) ENJOY FRIENDS!

IMG_4527

Oh and don’t accidentally drop the whole first cake mix on you and then have to send your sister and BF to pick up another while you clean up the mess…

Recipe inspired from: http://jamiecooksitup.net/2013/07/chocolate-lava-cake-crock-pot/

