It’s Not Fall if You’re Not Eating Pumpkin (Donuts)

IMG_4230It seems as though people only have one thing in mind when they hear the word “fall”: pumpkin. Whether it’s pumpkin spiced lattes, pumpkin candles, or one of the more gross options I came across the other day: pumpkin mac and cheese, it seems as though everyone is on a quest to get their pumpkin fix. Now, before I share what was deemed to be a hit by my very willing taste testers, I have a confession: I don’t buy into the pumpkin craze. Give me a chocolate something any day over something pumpkin. But, in lieu of trying to eat healthy(ish), ((if you minus those 5 dark chocolate chunk cookies I had today : ))) and being on the verge of giving into one of the 500 salivating recipes on my “Chocaholic” Pinterest board, I knew I needed to act fast. I needed to bake something that I wouldn’t be interested in eating. My family loves pumpkin, I could get my baking fix AND try out my new donut pan I got for my birthday that I hadn’t used yet, triple win.

So, now that all the semi-bashing of pumpkins is done, let me tell all you pumpkin crazies out there how to make these donuts! Because if you’re going to give into the craze, you’re gonna need something sweet to eat with that pumpkin spice latte.

Oh! I almost forgot the best part. These are hands down the EASIEST things I have ever made from scratch. I’m talking easier than no-bakes. All you need for these guys is 3 ingredients, THREE. You might even have them laying around–my house had 2 of the 3.

IMG_4216

Ingredients:
-spice cake mix
-pumpkin puree (15 oz. can)
-dark chocolate chips IMG_4218

Recipe: (ready for the simplest recipe you’ll ever see?)
1. Dump the spice cake mix and pumpkin puree all into a bowl and blend until completely combined. Be sure you stir until the powder of the cake mix is gone!
2. Add the chocolate chips.
3. Spoon into donut pan and cook for 22 minutes.
4. Devour! Remember: chew, swallow, breathe, repeat. I’m not kidding when I say people practically inhaled these.

ENJOY and Happy fall!! : )

