Day 23: Gingerbread Cookies

gingerbread cookiesI’ve always thought of gingerbread cookies being something you decorate or build houses with, but never actually eat. I decided that it seemed like a staple Christmas cookie so wanted to try to make ones that were meant to be eaten. These cookies require a lot of ingredients that I didn’t happen to have in my cabinet, so be sure you plan for a little shopping trip before you start your baking! My family always serves as my taste testers and my dad went as far to say these may be his favorites that I’ve made over the past few weeks. So get ready for the softest gingerbread cookies you’ll have yet!

Recipe:
Ingredients:
– 3/4 cup butter
– 1 cup sugar
– 1 egg plus 1 yolk
– 1/4 cup molasses
– 1 tsp baking soda
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 2 1/2 tsp ground ginger
– 1 tsp cinnamon
– 1/2 tsp ground cloves
– 2 1/4 cup flour
– chocolate chips

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350.
2. Beat sugar and butter together for 2 minutes.
3. Then add in molasses and mix until combined.
4. Beat in your egg and your additional yolk, baking soda, salt, ginger, cinnamon and cloves. Your dough will turn a nice color.
5. Add in flour until dough comes together. Mix on low.
6. Roll dough into balls. You can add chocolate chips or just roll in sugar. I chose to do some of each!
7. Bake for 10 minutes.

3 types of gingerbread

