Day 22: Fantasy Fudge

stacked fudgeThis weekend I was in Florida with my family and was lucky enough to learn how to make my favorite fudge of all time from my grandma. Every time she hears I’m coming to town she whips up a batch, but this time I told her to wait until I got there so I could finally learn. You can add nuts or other types of toppings to the fudge as well if you choose, but trust me, just fudge by itself is more than delicious! I plan on adding some peanut butter next time to try it out though : )

Recipe:
Ingredients:
– 3 cups sugar
– 3/4 cup unsalted butter
– 2/3 cup evaporated milk (one small can)
– 1 tsp vanilla
– 12 oz. of semi-sweet baker’s chocolate
– 1 jar marshmallow cream

Directions:
1. Combine sugar, butter and milk in saucepan.
2. Bring to full boil, stirring constantly. Continue boiling 5 minutes over medium heat or until candy thermometer reaches 234 degrees.
3. Remove from heat and stir in chocolate pieces until they melt. Then add vanilla and marshmallow cream. You will have to use a lot of muscle for this stirring part because it’s thick!
4. Pour into a 13×9 inch glass greased pan. Cool on counter (only about an hour or so) and cut into squares.

*Be sure to stir constantly when in sauce pan or it will scorch. Also, when placing your candy thermometer in the mixture, don’t let the tip touch the bottom of the pan, leave a space and clip it to the side of the saucepan. Another tip I learned was to spray pam on your spoon when getting the marshamllow cream out since it’s so sticky.

reading directionsstirring fudge

