Day 6: Rum Balls

Continuing on with the balls trend and made rum balls today! I’d never made these before, but they’re some of my dad’s favorites so I decided to give them a shot. My sister helped me out today as well, so shout-out to her! These were by far the messiest treat thus far with all the sugar and profuse stickiness, so let’s hope they’re worth it! We won’t know for 2 days though because they’re in the fridge soaking in the flavor. A few things: you can use walnuts or peanuts, just be sure they’re finely chopped. We made the mistake of not buying chopped, so we had to spend a lot of time chopping the walnuts by hand. Also, you can use light or dark rum, whatever you fancy.

IMG_2588

Recipe:IMG_2592
Ingredients:
– 1 12 oz. box of vanilla wafers
– 1 1/2 cups chopped walnuts
– 3/4 cup powdered sugar
– 1/4 cup cocoa
– 1/2 cup rum
– 3 tbsp light corn syrup

Directions:
    1. Crush vanilla wafers (we just put them in a big bowl and used a spoon) and combine with the chopped nuts. Add powdered sugar and cocoa.
2. Once combined, mix in rum and corn syrup.
3. Shape dough into balls (“dough” will be very sticky so maybe put powdered sugar on your hands before) and roll in powdered sugar.
4. Store rum balls in an air tight contained in the refrigerator for 2 to 3 days before serving. Roll them in sugar again when you take out.

Since I haven’t made these before not sure how they’ll freeze, but if I remember I’ll update the results.

