“I want a ticket to anywhere…maybe together we can get somewhere.” -Tracy Chapman

Hi, I’m back. I’ve never really left and at least I’m writing sooner than I did last time. I don’t really know what I’m planning to write about, so bear with me. It’s a new semester, new year, new classes…being back in school has a tendency to make life pretty monotonous. I can’t wait to have days where I just wake up and can decide what I want to do that day without anything holding me back. I guess that’s what summer is. At least in the days before there were such things as summer jobs and summer classes. Please tell me that those days haven’t passed me for good. Saying all that, of course I love college and I’m glad to be here. These are the times we’ll look back on for sure.

Sometimes when I’m at school it’s really hard to just feel relaxed. There is literally always something that I can be doing in order to be productive. My mom told me that when I went to college and was telling her I needed a tv for my room, “Do you really think you’ll even have time for that? There is always going to be something hanging over your head at college.” She’s so right. By the way, I did bring my tv to college freshman year and hardly used it for that reason. I did other things that just school stuff, but if I ever had free time it was rare that I’d use the tv to occupy my time. Having the feeling that you just can’t catch up and that’s there’s always something is seriously exhausting. I can’t keep up. I try, but I end up having to put things that aren’t “as important” on the back burner. Right now my online class is my main priority. It will all be over on February 11th though. PARTY AT MY HOUSE THAT DAY!!!! Seriously. That class was so much work. Actually, can’t say was yet, I still have more to go, that class IS so much work.

3 things I would do tomorrow if all my school work disappeared:

-I would read a book. Cliche? I don’t care. I miss high school where I would get home from school and just lay on the couch reading until dinner. I would probably read Hunger Games since it’s sitting beside me currently and so I can see what all the rave is about. I haven’t read a full book for enjoyment since September when my family and I went to the beach. (I want someone to build me a bookshelf like this one day, please??)

-I would clean my room. Not that I love cleaning, but my room is messy. I figured out the other day that part of me has been living out of a suitcase since November for Thanksgiving break. I came back to school and figured I left again in 2 weeks and just kept a lot of stuff in it. Then I went home for Christmas, never unpacked, went to Pennsylvania and now I’m back and there’s my suitcase on the floor spilling out clothes.

-I would make brownies, peanut butter hershey kiss cookies and a mint chocolate chip ice-cream pie. All 3. And I’d eat some of each and watch movies while I did so.

My roommates and I signed a lease today for the house that we will be living in in the fall. I feel so grown up. I’m living in a house, with my name on the lease. Crazy! I’m so excited. I’m living with my current roommates and then my friend is transferring here and she’ll live with us as well. Decor ideas are already whirring through my head.

New York plans are making progress. I have been doing a lot of research and finding ways where I can make this summer cheaper and more affordable (affordable is kind of a joke though, it’s going to be expensive either way).  It’s kind of nice to have something so great to look forward to. I think about it everyday. My first deadline for a couple of internships is quickly approaching, January 31st. This weekend I’m garnering all my energy towards internship applications and such. It’s so much easier to put energy into something like New York plans rather than school work. Funny how that works.

I still have so much more to say, but this isn’t the time or place. With that being said, I’ll be back sooner rather than later. Writing in this was refreshing though.

