“Do one thing every day that scares you.” -Eleanor Roosevelt

Sorry sorry sorry. I have failed as a blogger, BUT NO MORE! I’m back for good!! I’ve missed out on documenting a whole semester of my life! Here are some highlights:

I joined Ugazine this semester (UGA’s student run magazine). My first story is about fostering animals. It was chosen for the magazine and will be published sometime in the Spring. I wrote my second story on a new bookshop that opened in Athens. This one is supposed to be coming out on our website, which should be up and running by the end of the semester hopefully. I will publish the link when we unveil the site to the public! It’s all top secret right now.

I had my best classes I’ve had in college this past semester. I enjoyed them all for the most part. My Ecology professor was the best teacher I think I’ve had thus far. He’s so incredibly nice and super passionate about Ecology. People clap at the end of all his lectures. I recommend him, Dr. Porter, to anyone, even if Ecology isn’t your thing. Seriously, take him.

I’m on job number 2 of the semester. I’ve only had 2 days at my current job, but I like it a lot! It’s a job for UGA, which is nice because you get all the student breaks off automatically. I basically work for a lady who does research and we help input her data and help with any other necessary things for her current project. That’s the gist I’ve gotten so far at least. I think my title is Departmental Assistant.

I’ve been on an Elton kick lately. Not sure why. Maybe listening to this will allow you to enjoy him as much as I have been these past few weeks.

This news isn’t exactly timely, but definitely blog-worthy: MY SISTER GOT INTO UGA!!!! I think I was more nervous for her the day she was finding out. Let’s just say when I found out about myself getting into UGA, there was: screaming, jumping and tears. I get way emotional for happy things like that. I don’t know if I’ve ever been so happy as the day I found out.

I’m addicted to Criminal Minds now. Before this semester, actually, let me clarify: before living with my roommate Mary, shows like that freaked me out too much. The worst part is, Ion feeds my addiction! They run marathons almost everyday. It is the worst/best distraction ever. I can’t figure out why I do it to myself though. I’m always completely terrified after every episode. Oh, NEVER WATCH IT WHILE YOU’RE HOME ALONE. I’ve done it and it’s awful.

Here are some pictures to help chronicle this past semester:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ll leave you with this bit of knowledge that some too often forget. My friend and I were reflecting on this the other day and it’s made me think. Here it is: These days are some of the best of our lives. Maybe you realize it, maybe you don’t, but it’s true. Why? For many of us, our possibilities are limitless. Don’t be afraid to stray from this set path that a lot of us set for ourselves. Do whatever it is that makes you happy. Don’t have something that does? Find it. Try new things until you find something. Don’t waste time being unhappy over menial things, it will be insignificant later. Don’t let it swallow you up. End rant, done being cheesy — for now.

Here’s a nice little poem that is relevant:

Woulda-Coulda-Shoulda                                                                                                                   Shel Silverstein

All the Woulda-Coulda-Shouldas
Layin’ in the sun,
Talkin’ ’bout the things
They woulda coulda shoulda done…
But those Woulda-Coulda-Shouldas
All ran away and hid
From one little Did.

